Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Springing Back!

My apologies for the long hiatus.  Between job searching and the winter blues, I haven’t been too motivated to do much else.   But the warm spring breeze has sent me back out to the garden.  Winter damage has taken an extreme toll on my poor garden this year.  I’ve lost about half of my plants, even with winter coverings.   But hope springs eternal and the LSU Spring Garden Show beckoned.   Yay!   To prepare, I have been weeding the gardens front and back in preparation since the beginning of March.   My daffodils have come burst into bloom since the beginning of last March.  Their bright happy faces are a welcome sight.   I missed the chance to buy new bulbs to add to the garden this past fall.  Note to self:  Buy more daffys for next year’s left side of the front garden!

April 8, 2010 - Posted by | Flowers, Fruits and Vegetables

No comments yet.

Leave a comment