Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Blooming Pomegranate

My pomegranate tree is blooming.  I wasn’t sure it would since I moved it from the side of the house to the pond in March.  I needed something to replace the papaya tree next to pond.   The Sushiman didn’t want to put another papaya tree there since it was so difficult to keep covering it every winter.   I guess this spot is perfect for the pomegranate since it is happily growing there.  For those who are interested in such things, the cultivar is Wonderful.   The blooms are a beautiful crimson color, which my camera doesn’t quite catch properly.   It looks more orange than red in the pictures.  This shrub is drought- tolerant which is perfect when summer comes around.  I feel that this summer is going to be a scorcher.  Temps are already in the 90s and it’s only May.   Meanwhile, I think I’ll enjoy the heat after such a cold winter.

May 13, 2010 - Posted by | Flowers, Fruits and Vegetables |

2 Comments »

  1. I would love to grow a pomegranate, but no sunny area left in the garden for one. They have several of these where I work and they are gorgeous.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Comment by Jan | May 16, 2010 | Reply

    • In my case, I have very little shady areas in my garden so the pomegranate is perfect for me. I can’t wait to see the fruits!

      Comment by ryublade | May 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

