Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Pink Hearts, Azaleas & Roses

In the front of the house, the heart flowerbed is beginning to look about how I imagined it when I first planted it.  The pink azaleas are in full bloom with pink roses rising above it.  My azaleas are a full two weeks behind the other azaleas in the area.  When the azaleas around town have already faded, my azaleas have started to bloom.  Talk about late bloomers.  LOL.  By next year, those ugly cable and electric boxes will be completely covered and I’ll have a beautiful pink heart flowerbed for viewing instead.  Yay!  I still have one corner of the flowerbed to plant something in to finish off the flowerbed.  Something pink of course.  Originally, I had a huge pink geranium but looks like it didn’t survive this winter.  I’m considering another geranium.  Maybe, I’ll find the perfect plant next week at the Mother’s Day Plant Sale at the Burden Center.   That will be the reason I have to go to the plant sale, not that I’ve turned into an obsessive gardener who fervently looks forward to the flower and plant shows and marks it on her calendar so she won’t miss it.  No, No, that’s not me…..

May 6, 2010 - Posted by | Flowers | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Did I read it right…you’re just starting out with a new property and gardens ?
    If so, gotta get you over to my house.
    Very pretty beds.
    You sure know how to design !!!

    Comment by Patsi | May 9, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s actually our third year in our house. The gardens remain an ongoing project which I enjoy puttering around in during my free times.

      Comment by ryublade | May 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

