Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Running With the Turtle

The larger turtles seem to prefer The Kitchen Garden as a home instead of The Pond.  Earlier this spring, we found several of them half buried in the garden while preparing the garden beds.  Since I needed the space for my vegetables, I moved them back to the pond.   The small turtles seem happy to continue to live in the pond but the larger ones keep returning to the garden.  As you can see, they keep making a run across the backyard to the kitchen garden.   Lucky enjoys racing around them when he finds them.  Obviously, he’s never heard of the tortoise and the hare tale.

May 3, 2010 - Posted by | Animals & Pets

4 Comments »

  1. “Running with the turtle” could be a title to a post about jogging with me. To my children’s eternal regret, we have no turtles here, not even snakes or lizards. Drat!

    Christine in Alaska

    Comment by Christine B. | May 3, 2010 | Reply

    • LOL. I prefer to say that I’m a silent tiger ready to burst into speed with the right incentive. Our pond is a hit with all our friends’ children when they come by.

      Comment by ryublade | May 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. You need to establish a turtle hotel nearby to keep everyone happy!

    Comment by The Idiot Gardener | May 4, 2010 | Reply

    • I would but I have a feeling that the turtles have a mind of their own and would prefer to find their own dwelling, i.e. my nice kitchen garden.

      Comment by ryublade | May 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

