Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Search for the Culinary Sages

The culinary sage is another essential herb for the kitchen/herb garden.  Would your Thanksgiving turkey or stuffing be the same without this quaint herb?  Many would say nay.  I have grown the common sage (Salvia officinalis) every year from seed.  It is quite easy to grow in the ground or in containers.   The silver leaves make a nice border or accent plant in the flower garden, also.  But, my search for sages continues on….

While wandering through a local nursery, I found two new sages – Pineapple Sage (Salvia elegans) and Honeydew Melon Sage (Salvia elegans ‘Honey Melon’). I’ve read about the Pineapple Sage in other people’s garden blogs but have never heard of the Honeydew Melon Sage.   Needless to say, I snatched both of them up, along with an Apple Mint that I have been lusting for since my sister bought one last year.  The cutting she gave me never rooted and was a lost cause.

Honeydew Melon Sage will start to flower in May while the Pineapple Sage will begin in the fall.  They are both great hummingbird attractors.   Their leaves and flowers are edible and can be used in herbal teas, too.    The fragrance of these plants are amazing and the fuzzy leaves are fun to rub between your fingers.   I’ve planted both sages next to the Confederate Jessamine by the  swinging chair so I can swing and enjoy the mingled scent of jasmine, pineapple and honeydew – – tropical delight.

Honeydew Melon Sage:

Pineapple Sage:

April 24, 2010 - Posted by | Herbs

2 Comments »

  1. I also picked up a Pineapple Sage at the local big box store recently. They were advertising it as if it was culinary sage (i.e. suggesting you use it for turkey and dressing, etc.). I think they were a little confused but I didn’t mind. I picked a couple up (at an unbelievable low price) and can’t wait to see them bloom. That Honeydew Melon sage sounds very interesting. I look forward to seeing you post some bloom pics.

    Comment by Jean | April 24, 2010 | Reply

    • Congrats on finding such a great bargain! I look forward to seeing the blooms on both sages, too!

      Comment by ryublade | April 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

