Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Squash and Zucchini

The Sushiman and I picked up two squash and two zucchini plants from the RedStick Farmers Market.   This is a first for the both of us.  I’ve never grown a squash or zucchini in my life but they seems to be an essential garden plant to grow.  Every time I’ve talked about my kitchen garden, someone always ask if I have squash or zucchini.   Well, this year I will be able to say, “Why, yes I do.”

In my ignorance, the yellow squash and zucchini are interchangeable.  Besides the fact that one is yellow and the other is green, I’ve always felt these vegetables are similar.  Well, I am mostly right.  Both the yellow squash and the zucchini are actually summer squashes (Cucurbita pepo).

The yellow squash can be either the Yellow Crookneck or the Yellow Straightneck.  I have no idea which one we picked up.  Guess it’ll be a surprise to look forward to in the summer.

The zucchini or courgette can be yellow, green or light green!   I always thought they were green.  LOL.

Both the yellow squash and zucchini should be grown on mounds or hill.   I, however, will attempt to trellis my yellow squash and zucchini plants.   Since my dragonfruit did not survive this winter, I have redesigned the dragonfruit trellis and will be planting new dragonfruit again.  Meanwhile, the squash and zucchini will be using this trellis since it’s handy.  This will keep the leaves and vegetables off the ground which will reduce the chances of ground-borne disease, hopefully.

My newly planted yellow squash and zucchini plants:

April 22, 2010 - Posted by | Fruits and Vegetables

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

