Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Sweet Sweet Olive…

The Sushiman and I purchased this Sweet Olive tree (Osmanthus fragrans) at the RedStick Farmers Market downtown.  The Sweet Olive has been on my list of “Trees I would like to Have” ever since a co-worker told me that the sweet olive blooms are also known as osmanthus.  Osmanthus are dried flowers which are used to add a wonderful aroma to teas and desserts in many Asian cuisines.   I especially love it with rice wine dessert.  When we put the Sweet Olive tree in The Sushiman’s Jeep to bring it home, the Sweet Olive filled his Jeep with its wonderful fragrance.  We planted it at the far side of the driveway since we needed something to replace the bush that was killed by last year’s frosty winter.   I look forward to coming home and being greeted by the Sweet Olive’s fragrance as I get out of my car in the future.

April 17, 2010 - Posted by | Flowers

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

