Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Vivid Violas

Last November, I tried planting violas from seed.  The viola seeds sprouted and I happily had my brother transplant them into the front yard flower border.   Then, the cold winter arrived and the violas stopped growing.  For months, they were just healthy green plants with not a flower in sight.  Finally, a tiny cute viola flower showed up in March.  Now, they are finally putting on a show.  When the pansies around town are ending their last days, my violas are really blooming.  I wonder if I should consider pansies for winter and violas for spring for my garden.   This way I can enjoy these funny face beauties when winter rolls around and before spring really kicks in.

April 10, 2010 - Posted by | Flowers

1 Comment »

  1. You have some beautiful colors. In my experience, violas are just tougher than pansies. I’ve enjoyed mine and they are still producing. That reminds me, I was going to collect some seed….

    Comment by Nell Jean | April 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

