Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Into the Cosmos

Cosmos, Mezcla de Luces Brilliantes, (Bright Lights Mix) is a flower that I have tried growing from seed this year.  Like sunflowers, this is definitely an easy to grow plant for beginners.  The seedlings will sprout and grow within a week and be transplantable within 2-3 weeks.  Then, it’s just water and watch it grow and flower.  The feathery leaves and the airy flowers are so pleasing to the eyes.   These are supposed to grow up to 3 ft but some are still growing at 4 ft for me.   It’s a strange mix in that the plants look slightly different from each other.  Some started blooming last month at 2 1/2 ft and continue to provide beautiful yellow and orange blooms.   There are also a few that look much larger with bigger leaves with no flowers as of yet.  It’s a mystery but these are very healthy looking plants so I’ll just continue to observe.  The bonus factor is their resilience to the heat and humidity of the deep south.

August 8, 2009 - Posted by | Flowers

2 Comments »

  1. I like cosmos too. I usually buy the seedling from nurseries. I try to collect the seeds and propagate new plants but find that the next generation is usually not hardy. Anyway, the flowers are beautiful and even the leaves are pretty too.

    Comment by autumnbelle | August 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. I love cosmos but my ‘experiment’ this year has not produced a single flower! (or plant, actually). I sowed the seeds very late in the season. Next year I think I’ll do what autumnbelle did, buy the seedlings first. Your photos are so pretty!

    Comment by Jan (ThanksFor2Day) | August 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

