Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Flowers of the Night

Since I mentioned the night blooming cereus in my last post, I thought I should post some photos of the flowers, which just bloomed last night.  There was an abundance of the flowers blooming last night (10 beautiful flowers!).  Since these flowers only last one night, it is very exciting when they start to bloom.  In chinese culture, the night blooming cereus is used to reference a one night affair ( a beautiful and fleeting romance).   I can understand why since the flowers are so beautiful and the fragrance can be very overwhelming and heady if you have a few of them blooming at once.   The plant itself is not too pretty with flat succulant type leaves that tend to fall messily over but the flowers make it worthwhile as a keeper plant.   I grow them on the patio in pots so they can be covered or brought indoors in case of frost.  When the flowers start to bloom, you can actually see the flowers opening throughout the night.  It is quite a show.  Last year, I brought one into the restaurant where I was working and everyone enjoyed the flowers blooming together.

August 1, 2009 - Posted by | Flowers

8 Comments »

  1. Thank you for stopping by Keewee’s Garden.
    I had never heard of the night blooming cereus, I see why you keep this plant as it does have gorgeous blooms.

    Comment by keewee | August 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Keewee, the night blooming cereus is one of my favs, which I look forward to every summer. When most flowers have faded due to heat, the night blooming cereus starts really put up a show (even though it’s only for one night).

      Comment by ryublade | August 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Beauties! Really good photos!

    Comment by Tessa | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Tessa, thank you for compliments on the photos. Can you believe it was actually raining when I took the photos!

      Comment by ryublade | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. The night blooming flowers usually have the best scents. Very pretty, I bet the moths love these.
    Rosey

    Comment by Rosey Pollen | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Rosey Pollen: The night moths have a huge “scent-tational” party when the night blooming flowers bloom. LOL.

      Comment by ryublade | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  4. This is a very very beautiful flower. You have a 10 blooming flowers at the same time! How did you take care of the plant? It would be great if you have a picture of the whole plant too, like how the leaves and stems look like.

    Comment by autumnbelle | August 4, 2009 | Reply

    • Autumnbelle: 10 was a new high number for me but I’ve heard of people with older plants with lots more blooms. Mine are only about 4 ft from growing in the patio in pots. There’s not much care to the night blooming cereus for me. I just water daily and fertilize once a month except during winter. They need to be protected if frost is predicted in the winter but that’s it. They’re also very easy to propagate. If you know someone who has one, just ask for a leaf and stick it in dirt. I’ve have a small one growing from a branch that broke during last year’s hurricane Gustav. I was too busy cleaning the rest of the yard so stuck in a nearby pot and forgot to return to it. Two weeks later, I discovered a healthy night cereus happily growing in that pot. On that note, I’ll write more about this plant in a later post.

      Comment by ryublade | August 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

