Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Hydrangea Blues

Hydrangeas really herald the coming of summer for many people.  Those huge pink, blue, purple or white blooms are so eye-catching.  When I saw some beautiful blue hydrangeas blooming in the front yard of  someone’s house in my neighborhood, I mentioned to my sweetie, The Sushiman,  that  I would love to have one.  Well, I received two during the Memorial weekend  (that’s why he’s my sweetie!)  One was a Hydrangea Macrophylia Doublelicious and the other was a Hydrangea Macrophylia Forever Pink. Both are in beautiful shades of pink ( I should have mentioned I prefer the blue ones 🙂 )

Living in a newly constructed home, there are no real shady spots in my yard so I decided to plant the Hydrangea Macrophylia Forever Pink in my front yard flowerbed, right next to the rock fountain.  This spot receives morning sun but is usually shady by 2 pm onwards.  Hopefully, it’ll do well there.  As for the Hydrangea Macrophylia Doublelicious, it’ll be put into a pot for now.

Hydrangea Macrophylia Forever Pink  ( Top 2 photos)

Hydrangea Macrophylia Doublelicious (Bottom 3 photos)





June 8, 2009 - Posted by | Flowers

3 Comments »

  1. I,too, prefer the blue hydrangeas. I have three peegees in front of my house and the blue wouldn’t go with the paint color, so I chose “sublime”, which is a lime green that turns a deep rusty rose. What I should have done was pick the hydrangeas first, THEN chose the paint color!!!

    Comment by islandgardener | June 8, 2009 | Reply

    • Island gardener, reminds me of the paint commercial where the customer comes in with a pillow and asks to have paint coordinate with her pillow. Can you imagine bringing in a hydrangea bloom to the paint guy? LOL. By the way, what is a “peegee”?

      Comment by ryublade | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. These are beautiful. I miss hydrangeas so much. Alas, they don’t do well here in my part of Texas. My hubby taunted me once by sending me a photo of a blue hydrangea while he was traveling in South Carolina and I was stuck at home.

    Comment by poprice | June 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

