Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

A Rose for 50 cents

To tell the truth, I was not planning on growing any roses in my garden.  Don’t get me wrong, I love roses.  The soft, velvety petals, the rich scent they exude and lush blooms in the summer; what is there not to love?  I especially love the hybrids,  which do not love me or the hot southern summers.  Still, when my mom gave me three roses bushes that she purchased for only 50 cents each, how could I say no?   Well, I planted them in the small flower bed between the front entrance walkway and the garage wall and in the heart flowerbed.   Perhaps, our long springlike weather gave them a chance to really set down roots because they’re blooming like crazy lately.  Not bad for half a dollar, I say.

June 6, 2009 - Posted by | Flowers

2 Comments »

  1. You can’t turn down a bargain — and such a thing of beauty!

    Comment by islandgardener | June 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Islandgardener, you’re right. They are beautiful. I wish I knew their names but the tag only says red or pink hybrid roses.

      Comment by ryublade | June 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

