Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Early Fruits of Labor

As a gardener, all the labor of planting, fertilizing, watering, bug and disease watching pays off at the moment of seeing that little fruit, vegetable or flower bud.  From that moment,  the anticipation of success knows no bounds, especially the first one.  You check that special one that you have marked daily, if not hourly.  LOL.   It is still early days, but I thought I would snap a few pictures of some of the fruits to be anticipated in my garden : Better Boy tomatoes, blueberries, blackberries, figs and Yuzu.

It is the first year for the blackberries and blueberries, which were just planted last month.  It is recommended that blueberry plants not be allowed to fruit the first year but these came with blueberries on them so what was I supposed to do?  So I just left them on the plants and will enjoy this year’s few berries as they ripen.

May 21, 2009 - Posted by | Fruits and Vegetables

6 Comments »

  1. Hi there! How do you use the yuzu?

    Comment by mamawhatthe | May 21, 2009 | Reply

    • The yuzu is a very fragrant japanese citrus fruit, which can be used in place of lemons or limes in recipes. The yuzu has very large seeds, so only the juice and the peel is used for cooking. It has gained a lot of popularity due to its use in japanese cuisine and is currently one of the darlings for celebrity chefs around the world in their dishes.

      Comment by ryublade | May 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’ve never heard of the yuzu before..very interesting. I just bought a small mission fig plant. I’m in NJ zone 6 so will have to winter it indoors. Great start to your blog and I’m looking forward to getting to know you and garden.
    Lynn

    Comment by lynn | May 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by. My fig is a Brown Turkey which does well in the humid heat we get down here in South Louisiana. After a little research, I discovered that figs do better contained so your fig should do great in a container. I’m thinking I will have to dig it up in the fall and find some way to contain its roots or I’ll have a giant fig tree in my yard and nothing else in a few years. They can grow 15- 30 ft (or more!) down here in the South.

      Comment by ryublade | May 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. Wow….my blackberries havent done a thing so far. I have picked a few blueberries, there are tons more coming up! Fresh fruit is the BEST

    Comment by Dirt Princess | June 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Dirt Princess, the blackberries are ripening nicely but it’s a fight to see who get the berries first, me or the birds. So far, the birds seem to be winning. LOL.

      Comment by ryublade | June 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

