Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Toad on a Lily Pad

Since my Sony camera is on the blink, I will be depending on my iphone camera for pics of my garden until the Sony camera is fixed.  Just when I’ve started to really get into taking garden pictures, too.  Anyways, here’s a picture of a cute little toad on a lily pad in my pond.   It’s the same toad but from different angles and distance.

Usually, you see frogs but I don’t seem to have any in my yard,  just toads.  Last year, there was an influx of tadpoles in my newly built pond which I thought were frogs.  For over two months, I eagerly monitored their growth and lamented the ones who were eaten by the koi.  Imagine my surprise to realize that I had been raising toads in my pond when they were fully grown.  They promptly hopped away and disappeared from my yard, which is a bit of a relief since I didn’t want my dog, Lucky, to eat one and get sick from the poison on the toad.

This year, I welcome all reptiles and amphibians to my garden since I seem to have an influx of snails and slugs eating all my plants.  Although I think snails are cute, they are not welcome to an all you can buffet in my garden.  LOL.

May 19, 2009 - Posted by | Animals & Pets

2 Comments »

  1. Do you have enough lily pads for each toad to have its own? 🙂 It’s a cute shot, and they do make good gardening assistants on pest patrol. It’s very satisfying when you see wildlife moving in, as you make a home for them.

    Comment by Northern Shade | May 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Yep, plenty of lily pads for everyone, including for the koi to nibble on.

      Comment by ryublade | May 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

