Spot of Gardening

Gardening in South Louisiana

Freshman Plants

May may be the time for graduating students, but it’s the freshmen to my garden that’s the focus this month.  Cosmos, zinnias, pink calla and easter lilies to the front flower beds.  A pink hybrid rose to the heart- shaped flower bed, which my dad designed around those ugly cable and electric boxes in the front side yard.  Two red hybrid roses and hardy gladiolus to the front side flower bed.  Two yellow with orange markings cannas in pots next to the front entrance.   Eventually, I will have year-round flowers in the front of the house (Don’t you love living in the south!)

In the backyard, I have created a new dahlia bed next to pond.  In addition to the unknown dahlia transplants given by my dad, I have planted tubers of Mystery Day, Rosella, Seattle and Floodlights in the bed.  I have Thomas Edison and White Perfects in pots.  I know peonies don’t do well this far south but I planted a Sarah Bernhardt and a free mystery peony sent with the dahlia bulb order into separate pots.  Peonies are best planted in the fall but these peonies have already sprouted so here’s hoping for the best.

The Black Satin thornless blackberry plant is blooming and fruiting nicely, as well as the red desert rose I picked up at the LSU Garden Show this year.

DSC02054

As for my sophomores, the gardenia, pink plumeria and mandeville are blooming beautifully.  I have three other types of plumeria given by my mom, which I am waiting to find out what color blooms they will have.  So far, just very healthy leaves have sprouted.

DSC02058

May 15, 2009 - Posted by | Flowers, Fruits and Vegetables

2 Comments »

  1. Sarah Bernhardt peony has a beautiful flower. I love the masses of pink petals on each blossom. Their peony ring has already gone up, in anticipation of the heavy flower heads. Mine do very well in a zone 3 garden. Sometimes you don’t know until you actually try, how well a plant will do. Good luck with it.

    Comment by Northern Shade | May 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Well, we just had a nice cool front come in and we’re enjoying 50-70s degree F weather this week. Highly unusual for zone 8b Baton Rouge, LA. It seems someone up high is telling me that peonies can be in my future garden, too. LOL. Since I planted it right on the soil surface level, I can already see little red buds sprouting. Hopefully, the roots are growing well underneath, too.

      Comment by ryublade | May 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

